Vikram Chandra Resigns From The Post of CEO for NDTV Group

4 min read
Vikram Chandra with Dr Prannoy Roy in NDTV Profit

The executive director and CEO of NDTV Group, Vikram Chandra, resigned from his post on Thursday thus giving most if his time to TV shows and other areas of interest in journalism. He announced the decision to step down with an immediate effect, to which NDTV Group notified the BSE today in the morning.

As per the company statement provided in a press release, The NDTV board has accepted Chandra’s decision. Vikram Chandra has been a key member of the NDTV family since 1994, in a large number of roles. He has expressed the wish to return to full-time journalism with NDTV and focus on the TV shows of the Group. 

Vikram Chandra was appointed as the CEO in 2011 for 3 years but was soon extended to 2 more years. Also, he has been a key person in his professional front in NDTV as he was the CEO of NDTV Networks in 2007 and NDTV Coverage in 2008. He was accredited with roles and duties of NDTV Group CEO only after then-CEO Sanjay Trehan quit from the post. Vikram Chandra played a key role in keeping NDTV as numero uno in India as he was Keys news anchor as well as host to several TV shows. Before NDTV came in broadcast segment, he played a key role of head of Business Channel in NDTV Profit thus keeping up an excellent pace in the fast-growing competitive market.

Joined in 1994, Vikram Chandra went through several phases such as being a reporter, anchor, host to various shows, and a pivotal part of channel’s online initiatives; for the past 17 years. He has been the Key host to some of biggest shows on Indian television like Gadget Guru, Big Fight, Prime Time News/9’o Clock News, Save Our Tigers, Cleanathon and so on.

At present, KVL Narayan Rao, who is the executive vice chairperson of NDTV, will be the new CEO wherein Vikram Chandra will remain as the consulting editor for NDTV. Also, he stepping down came as a clear decision as he wants to keep focused towards his other posts which are Board of Directors in Indian Broadcasting Foundation (IBF) and Vice President of Commonwealth Broadcasting Association.


Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…