UP Elections 2017: Election Dates Announced Even As Parties Continue Political Manoeuvring

6 min read

Election dates for the crucial Hindi-heartland state of Uttar Pradesh have been announced even as the feud between the ruling party, the SP, continues in New Delhi. Five states, Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand & Goa, go to polls this year and the dates in the months of February and March. Over 16 crore people will vote in this year’s assembly elections in the five states and UP will vote in a total of 7 phases. UP has 403 constituencies.

Will the BJP be able to recreate its 2014 magic in UP Elections 2017

The seven phases of the polls in UP have been scheduled for February 11, 15, 19, 23 and 27 and March 4 and 8. Phase 1 has a total of 73 constituencies and the date is February 11.Phase 2 has 67 constituencies and polls are to be held on February 15. Phase 3 with 29 constituencies go to polls on February 19. The 4th phase has 63 constituencies and poll on February 23. The notification of the 5th phase will be notified on February 2 and theelection will take place on February 27.Phase 6 will be notified Feb 5 and the date of polls will be March 4. The 7th and final phase will be held on March 8 and will cover 40 constituencies. Counting of votes and declaration of results will be on March 11.

Besides UP, the other four states will also witness the counting of votes on the same date, March 11. Punjab goes to the polls in one single phase on February 4 for 117 seats. Uttarakhand polls on February 15 for 70 seats. Goa polls on February 4 for a total of 40 seats. Manipur, which has seen curfews and violence in the last few months, will witness two phases of polling on the 4th and the 8th of March for its 60 seats.

The Election Commission of India has also set out a list of rules and regulations for the UP Elections 2017 which will constitute the Model Code of Conduct or the MCC. First, the limit of electoral expenses for candidates is Rs 28 lakh for bigger states like UP, Punjab and Uttarakhand and Rs 20 lakh for Manipur and Goa. The EC will also place special emphasis on the dissemination of fake news and has roped in the support of the Press Council of India to help track such malicious news and their publishers. The EC has also stated its intention to ensure that no black money is used to fight elections and a strict expenditure monitor mechanism will track parties and politicians. When we look at the five states, the most important parties include Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Shiromani Akali Dal, Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and the Manipur People’s Party.

The recent rift between UP CM Akhilesh Yadav and his father, SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav, has proved to be a boon for the three other parties who will look to win the UP Elections 2017. BSP supremo Mayawati will look to woo Muslim and Dalit voters who had voted for SP the last time. The BJP will be looking forward to its star campaigner and the country’s PM Narendra Modi to win big using his personal charisma and has planned several rallies ahead of the polls. The Congress, on the other hand, will look to enter into a pre-election understanding with the RLD in order to bolster its chances. Prospects as of now for the Congress are dismal as of now. We will keep you updated on all matters related to the UP Elections 2017.

Check Also

5 Reasons Why You Should Buy an Extended Car Warranty

Every car buyer wants to get the best value for their money. While you can’t avoid the cos…