Punjab Ready To Inaugurate 13 More Colleges

3 min read
Punjab Ready

The government ruling in the state of Punjab has declared of inaugurating 13 new government-run colleges as reported on June 9, 2016. The educational institutions include 2 professional course colleges, 2 Model Degree Colleges and 9 Degree colleges as per the initiative. The construction works have already been started and are likely to get through by 2016-17. The session could commence for model and degree colleges.

The complete procedure would begin under Rashtriya Uchattam Siksha Abhiyan (RUSA). Financial arrangements have been cleared and thus, named as Government College, Punjab Arts and Sports College (located in Jalandhar) and Punjab Aeronautical College of Engineering (located in Patiala). The total amount being invested is 26 crores INR each.

MUST READ: Children Fell Sick After Consuming Lizard Food

The excess share has been gathered as of Rs. 6.47 crores which will be calculated as 60:40 proportion of Centre and State government. Out of 13 colleges, 4 colleges construction work is almost finished i.e. 75% and will start its academic sessions from current year only. Rest colleges might get its infrastructure ready, but admissions of students might be from next year.

According to Surjit Singh Rakhra, Higher Education Minister, The two model degree colleges are opened in Pathankot and Ferozepur with investment of Rs 12 crore each with the collaboration of RUSA. The construction work of these colleges has been completed and admission process in these colleges would start in arts, science and commerce streams from current session.

The 13 new colleges aggregated by the state government has been mainly for rural aspirants who tend to go for higher education in Punjab. Although many of it is currently situated in an urban locality, the education ministry is planning to outreach the latter education seekers.

The Government has marked rural areas and towns to open these new government colleges. These colleges would inaugurate in The Government has demarcated rural areas and cities to open these new government colleges. These colleges likely to open in Dharamkot (Moga), Sujanpur (Pathankot), Dhuri (Sangrur), Kishankot (Gurdaspur), Bahadarpur (Mansa), Barnala, Phillaur (Jalandhar), Nakodar (Jalandhar), Moonak (Sangrur).

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…