Punjab Polls 2017: Candidates To Face-Off in Single Phase Elections

9 min read
Punjab Polls 2017

Halfa decade ago when Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP formed a government after winning the State Assembly polls in 2012, the party turned out to be in a progressive mode with lots of upheld promises on the verge of fulfillment. Now with Punjab Polls 2017 coming ahead on 4th of February, the single phase voting will be taken forward in various areas of the State. Heading towards a neck-to-neck competition amongst the current contesting parties, the road journey of all the three parties have been amazing with an overwhelming response from the public.

Single phase elections to happen on February 4 as voters help win deserving candidate in Punjab Polls 2017

The elections will witness four main parties, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) merging with BJP, Congress, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and BSP which will lead the Punjab Polls 2017 at every niche. Earlier, SAD-BJP party winning the previous elections with 56 seats out of set 117 constituencies all over the State came in power but this time equally powerful parties such as Congress and AAP contesting the elections might show a better way out to the current ruling party.

List of Constituencies in Punjab

Rendering upon 117 seats in Punjab, the 1st phase election polls will include all the constituencies which have been given below.

Candidates for Punjab Polls 2017

In the previous assembly elections, Akali Dal took over at least 68 seats after merging with BJP hence winning in important constituencies like Pathankot, Phagwara, Amloh, Banga, Dera Bassi, Lambi, among others. Winning the elections for second consecutive years, this time it seems quite tough to win the Punjab Polls 2017 with AAP like party facing firmly to sweep the elections. Defeating present Chief Minister of Punjab, Prakash Singh Badal and Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, from Akali Dal has been looking forward to winning again thus competing with Captain Amrinder Singh from Congress.

However, with no such prominent face from BJP, Dera Sacha Sauda Chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim has announced his support for SAD-BJP hence believing in winning elections with a majority. Also, his fan following is near about 35 lakhs public who tend to vote his favorable party. But with prominent faces for Punjab Polls 2017, the newly heads-turner government Aam Aadmi Party carries aplethora of potential to clean sweep the polls.

Face-Off B/W Prominent Leaders

Keeping Bhagwat Singh Mann as the face of CM for Punjab this year, he will be contesting from Jalalabad giving thrashing competition to Dy. CM Sukhbir Singh Badal. Another candidate Himmat Singh Shergillwill be contesting opposite Bikram Singh Majitha from Majitha belonging to AAP and SAD, respectively. Apart from two prominent faces, AAP has put its front foot forward with equally popular names who have been working diligently for the public from past decade.

Captain Amarinder Singh, on the other hand, has kept himself in anutter safe zone by contesting from Patiala, the place he has known and won three times consecutively. In fact, Congress president Rahul Gandhi campaigning on behalf of his candidate drew as many as 70 to 77,000 of public subsequently speaking of promises which were kept intact and the present condition of the State worsened by Akali-BJP.

Promises to be Fulfilled Post Punjab Polls 2017

As we earlier reported that the Budget 2017 which was announced yesterday stated to accept not more than Rs. 20,000 for each candidate contesting in the polls with an end of campaigning till 5 p.m. today. Moreover, after the results of Punjab Polls 2017, implementation of the recommendations made under 7th pay commission is mandatory. However, the present ruling party has already started off with the implications thus determined to provide equal payments to the deserving ones.

Predictions for Assembly Elections in Punjab

So, with the assembly elections a day ahead on 4th February, the State will have single-phase polls as the entire contesting will be completed in the 1st phase itself of which exit poll will be declared on March 11, 2017, along with the counting of votes. Captain Amarinder Singh from Congress moves ahead with confidence and winning two-thirds of the polls wherein Badal, and Majitha from Akali Dal completely agrees with the fact that it would be their third consecutive win as they have BJP and Dera Sacha supporting them.

The only thing that makes Punjab Polls 2017 so intriguing is the introduction of AAP which stood third in the municipal elections in 2015 thus marking a win for BJP all over the State. Promising to clean sweep Akali and Congress both, CM face Mann, and party president Arvind Kejriwal vows to put all of the contesting candidates behind the bars after they win the assembly elections.

Highlighted and suffering by riots, drug addiction, fraudulence, and so on Punjab is literally on the verge of make or break the State post the polls also rendering upon which party comes to power with a majority. Perhaps, simply looking at the public back-ups, most probably AAP may win Punjab Polls 2017 with almost 93 seats in hands.

Check Also

5 Reasons Why You Should Buy an Extended Car Warranty

Every car buyer wants to get the best value for their money. While you can’t avoid the cos…