List of 27 New Smart Cities Announced Under ‘Smart Cities Mission’

4 min read
Smart Cities

Union Ministry and Urban Development Ministry, Govt. of India made an announcement regarding the inclusion of 27 more new smart cities to the list. It would be subjected under ‘Smart Cities Mission‘ where 27 new named were announced out of 60 cities and 27 States and Union Territories shortlisted in the recently held campaign.

The following series of names which were released on Thursday will receive funds for developments and other causes. Starting the process f funding will help convert tier II & III cities into Smart Cities. At this moment, it will witness an inclusion of 40 and 38 cities in the next two years, respectively. The cities will be provided with an investment of Rs. 66,883 crores.

As per the novel concept, Smart Cities is a combined highly advanced term for overall development in sustainable real estate, infrastructure, market viability and appropriate communication. It is also defined on the basis of its premium information technology which is seen as prime infrastructure thus for providing essential amenities for residents.

Out of 98 cities and towns selected will be liable convert itself into a smart city where many technologies platform would be involved but with nil limitations as well as reachable automated sensor networks and data centres. Five years down the line the cities will be eligible for graduation where 24 of them are capital cities, 24 are business and industrial centres, 18 are cultural and affluent tourism area, 5 are ports, and rest 3 of them are educational and healthcare hub. Cities from Sikkim, Gujarat, Nagaland, Odisha have also appeared on the list.

Smart Cities

At present, Rs. 1.44 lakhs crores have been set aside for investment purpose in the smart cities proposed and selected so far. As per reports, 82 projects are already under implementation in its first phase of 20 cities whereas other 113 projects will soon take off for the development of infrastructure. The work has been started in full pace thus reaching its first phase anytime soon. People would be able to see new Smart Cities within one year.

The list of cities coming under the Smart Cities Mission announced by the government under the Union Ministry and Urban Development Ministry have been mentioned below.

The proposed Smart Cities Mission will ensure that government provides Rs. 500 crore for each city for 5 consecutive years with States making anequal contribution. The rest of resources will be generated from loans, the public-private partnership, schemes of Central and State governments, along with urban local bodies. Centre has also tied up with DFID of UK, JICA, New Development Bank, BRICS Bank, ADB and World Bank. They would invest 1 billion USD and $500 million per city.

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…