Kerala Assembly Elections 2016 Result: LDF Owns the Throne

4 min read
Kerala Elections 2016 Result

Kerala Assembly Elections 2016 ResultWhile the Reds are in a shock after the disastrous defeat in West Bengal, there is at least a silver lining to be proud about. When on one hand in the West Bengal State Assembly Elections the Left Front faced such a huge loss, the Kerala has been swept over by the same party. The picture of Kerala is not only different in this case, but the important factor is that there the fight is mainly between Congress and LDF. While in one state they played the role of ally, in the other, they acted as the competitors.

The CPM-led LDF in Kerala secured as much as 91 seats which is clear majority for it to come in the power. It is a huge come back for the party. Though this is probably the only state of India with a proper concept of Democracy. Since 1982, no political party has consistently remained in the power. The two alliances of UDF and LDF have alternatively managed to rule. It seems that Kerala is set on the trend irrespective of the issues. The people are also happier with this. The literacy rate of Kerala being so high they have a perfect understanding of what exactly democracy is. Rather this is probably the sole cause of rapid development.

After every five years, the ruling party changes and this year was not an exception. Out of 140 seats this year the CPM-led LDF has acquired as many as 91 seats. However, unlike every year, this year apart from the Congress-led UDF; BJP has also acquired some seats. This year the Bharatiya Janata Party has opened up its account at the State Legislative Assembly of Kerala. The critics are saying that this is a long history. The striking matter and of course which is funny too is that UDF candidate Anil Ankara has won by a margin of just three votes.

BJP’s leader and former Union minister O Rajagopal won from Nemom by defeating CPI(M) MLA V Sivankutty by a margin of 8,671 votes. Narendra Modi on the creation of history congratulated his party workers of Kerala. What adds to the disappointment of Congress is the defeat of the significant leaders like Shibu Baby John, KP Mohanan and K Babu.

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…