JNU Fines Umar, Anirban and Kanhaiya

4 min read
JNU Fines Umar, Anirban and Kanhaiya

Research scholars Umar Khalid and Anirban Bhattacharya got rusticated by JNU based on the 9th February incident in the campus. That day some students held a poetry reading session with the subject “A Country without a Post Office” dedicated to the Parliament attack convict Afzal Guru. The topic took an ugly turn when the discussion led to anti nationalist slogan and the consequence took a brutal turn.

Now as a result of their ‘disrespectful’ behaviour and spreading wrong message to the young generation a three-member committee which was later expanded to include two more faculty members got selected to discuss the punishment of the rebel students.

Umar Khalid and Kanhaiya Kumar have been fined Rs. 20,000 and 10,000 respectively. On the other hand Anirban Bhattacharya, the other rebel student is barred by the university from pursuing any course in JNU for the next five years. JNU administration has also rusticated PhD student Mujib Gatto for two semesters and JNUSU leader Ashutosh imposed a penalty of Rs 20,000, while ABVP leader Saurabh Sharma, who had complained against Kanhaiya fined Rs 10,000 for the row.

After the decision Khalid posted on Facebook

“A farce is what this inquiry has been from day one, made to witch-hunt and punish students by hook or crook. Do we need to remind you, Mr Jagdish Kumar (JNU VC) that unlike you the students and teachers of this campus are not pliant stooges of the RSS.”

The official statement from the university was:

“The committee has recommended rustication/fine for three students, withdrawal of hostel facilities/financial penalty for two students and only financial penalty for fourteen students. Two former JNU students, moreover, have been declared out of bounds”

“The recommendation of the Committee for the above disciplinary measures pertains to “Not following university procedures”, “providing misinformation to the university”, “misconduct and indiscipline”, “causing and colluding in the unauthorized entry of any person into the campus”, “putting up objectionable poster”, “arousing communal, caste or regional feelings and creating disharmony among students”, “furnishing false certificate or false information in any manner”, “blockade or forceful prevention of any normal movement of traffic” and “violation of security, safety rules” notified by the university,”

Other eight students who participated in the anti nationalist slogan also faced punishment from the university authority.

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…