IPL 2017 List of Players Released : Steyn, Pieterson Find themselves Without Contracts after being Offloaded by their Franchises

4 min read
IPL 2017 List of Players Released

The Indian Premier league is perhaps the biggest non-international cricket tournament in the world right now and the cricketing competition is going into its tenth season next year when IPL 2017 will kick off soon near the April-May time window next year. In a media advisory on Monday (December 19), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the names of players retained and released by the 8 teams.The deadline for franchises to announce their squads and who they were offloading ahead of IPL 10 was December 16 and there has been quite a considerable amount of offloading which was done by the teams which did include quite a number of top rated players finding themselves without contracts.

In all, 63 cricketers, of which 28 are overseas players, have been released by the eight IPL franchises for the 2017 season, the BCCI confirmed in a release on Monday. The board also confirmed that 140 players, including 44 overseas cricketers, have been retained.

Kevin Pieterson has been offloaded by the rising Pune Supergiants before IPL Season 10.

Rising Pune Supergiants have released former England captain Kevin Pietersen, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Saurabh Tiwary, Albie Morkel and GeorgeBailey.

South African speedster Dale Steyn finds himself without a contract after being laid off by new IPL franchise Gujarat Lions.

Another one of the new franchises, Gujarat Lions have surprisingly let go South African fast bowler Dale Steyn along with locals like Paras Dogra, Pravin Tambe and Amit Mishra.

Players released by the Vijay Mallya-ownedBangalore Royal Challengers include Varun Aaron, Kane Richardson among others while Sunrisers Hyderabad completed their offloading by letting go players in the likes of Trent Bolt and Eoin Morgan among the key players.

Mukesh Ambani’s Mumbai Indians was also one of the names which offloaded quite a number of players who are hailed as good cricketers of today in the likes of Marchant De Lang, Corey Anderson, Martin Guptill and Jerome Taylor as well as young Indian prospect Unmukt Chand. The team from Delhi were also a part of the player shedding party when the franchise let go of Imran Tahir, Pawan Negi, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Joel Paris.

King XI Punjab has terminated the service of Australian pacer Mitchell Johnson after he was offloaded prior to the IPL 10 squad submission deadlines.

In comparison to the rest of the teams, Punjab and Kolkata have done a far less shedding when it came to their key players with the Kings releasing Australian speedster Mitchell Johnson while the Knight Riders will be without the service of Colin Munro, Morne Morkel and Brad Hogg among others.

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…