Indian Sports Ministry announced to consider the Rio Olympics 2016 medal winners for Arjuna & Rajiv Gandhi Award

3 min read
Rio Olympics 2016

The Sports Ministry of India has announced on Tuesday that the medal winners from the upcoming Rio Olympics 2016 will be considered for this year’s Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards. The Sports Ministry has taken the move so that the silverware winners get immediate recognition as well as get rewarded for their brilliant achievement in the “Greatest Show on the Earth”.

The patterning body of the Indian sports has taken this initiative so that athletes get motivated before the sporting extravaganza begins from August and also need not wait to for one full year to get nominated for the sporting honors after their medal-winning performances at the Rio Olympic Games.

Rio Olympics 2016

Also Check: Virat Kohli to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna , Rahane Arjuna

The Sports Ministry will also consider felicitating those medal winners in the individual events which have already not been conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in the past, for the highest sporting honor of the country.

The Ministry representative said in a press release; “Medal winners in team events, who have played stellar roles in the medal won by the team for the country in Rio Olympics 2016 such as number of goals scored, number of goals saved etc., and who have already not been conferred with Arjuna Award in the past will be considered for Arjuna Awards.”

Must Check: Mary Kom’s dream for Rio Olympics 2016 shattered

According to the current provision of the scheme, to get nominated for the Arjuna Awards and the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, sports achievements of the sportspersons for the last four years apart from the year of the award, have been considered. So being nominated for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and the Arjuna Awards of 2016, the sports achievements during the period 2011 to 2015 will be taken into consideration.

The medal-winners of previous two Olympics, the Beijing 2008 Olympics and the London 2012 Olympics, Mary Kom, Vijender Singh, Sushil Kumar, Saina Nehwal, Gagan Narang, Vijay Kumar and Yogeshwar Dutt all have been rewarded with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award during the span of 2008 to 2012.

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…