F1 Spanish Grand Prix 2016, Verstappen cliched the silverware where as Hamilton and Rosberg clashed with each other

4 min read
F1 Spanish Grand Prix 2016

Dutch teenage driving sensation, Max Verstappen became the youngest Formula One driver to win a Grand Prix when he got the pole position in Barcelona at the Spanish Grand Prix on Sunday. The 18-year old driver who joined Red Bull team this year from Toro Rosso dethroned the former and the four times world champion Sebastian Vettel, who achieved the same feat for Red Bull too. Verstappen’s task got easier when the two Mercedes team-mates Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg, who got the pole position after the Saturday’s qualification race, crashed into each other on the first lap of the race.

Verstapeen, hailed as one of the hottest property of the F1 circuit, Spanish Grand Prix was his 24th race only, and the Dutchman showed brilliant composure and maturity to prove why he has been speculated as the future world champion. The two Ferrari drivers, veteran Kimi Raikkonen and former world champion Sebastian Vettel grabbed the second and the third spot respectively.

 The Spanish Grand Prix was drenched in drama from the word go. Lewis Hamilton started the race from the first position kudos to his brilliant performance in the qualification round where as his team mate Rosberg started from the second position. Rosberg overtook the Brit at the first corner, but the current world champion tried to go past Rosberg at the Turn 4. The accident happened when Rosberg tried to defend his position, pushing Hamilton onto the grass. The two Mercedes collided and spun off with each other, and their races were over on the first lap.

Verstapeen’s luck was also favouring him. The Dutch got the edge over his senior team member Daniel Ricciardo as the team put Verstapeen on three pit stop strategy where as Australian was put on two-pit stop plan. Ricciardio eventually became fourth despite suffering a puncture on the penultimate 65th lap. Williams’ Valtteri Bottas and Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz Jr became 5th and 6th eventually. Sergio Perez of Force India clinched the 7th position where as three veterans Felipe Massa of Williams, Jenson Button of McLaren and Daniil Kvyat on his return to Toro Rosso grabbed the 8th, 9th, 10th position respectively.

Check Also

BJP MP Babul Supriyo Heckled by TMC While Entering the Polling Booth

The third phase of the West Bengal elections of State Legislative Assembly has been very b…