The devastating all-rounder and talisman behind West Indies’s recent T20 World Cup triumph, Carlos Brathwaite has been named as the new captain of the West Indies T20 squad. West Indies will play two T20s in Florida against India, after the conclusion of the ongoing Test series, and Brathwaite will lead the team for the first time there.

Carlos Brathwaite

Brathwaite came into the limelight when he whacked four sixes in the final over against England in the T20 World Cup final played at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata and clinched the match. The lanky all-rounder has been appointed in place of the two times T20 World Cup winning captain Darren Sammy.

West Indies chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said in a prèss conference, “Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,”

Later he added, “We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches,”

West Indies will lock horn with India for a two-match T20 series which will be played at Fort Lauderdale in Florida on 27 and 28 August after the completion of the ongoing four-match test series, which is India currently leading by 1-0, after two test matches. The third test match will start from today, 9th August.

West Indies T20 squad for the upcoming India series: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Marlon Samuels,  Lendl Simmons, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Fabnewz Team
Load More In Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Tips on How to Save for Your Trip to Santorini

When you decide to go on holiday, it can cost a great deal of money and as a result, you w…